Community Development & Engineering


The Community Development and Engineering Department is dedicated to providing the highest level of quality customer service to the residents, businesses, and visitors of
Duluth.  In addition to the areas of responsibility below, this department is responsible for:

  • Managing applications for land use changes and modifications
  • Enforcing city codes and ordinances
  • Reviewing Plans
  • Issuing Permits
  • Conducting Inspections
  • Providing  transportation planning management
  • Supporting marketing and local events
  • Verifying site and hydrology compliance
The Department performs these duties with the assistance of the City’s ordinances and regulations, the elected officials, citizens, developers, builders, city
employees and sometimes the expertise of outside agencies. The Community Development and Engineering Department also oversees the City's Comprehensive Plan and coordinates long-range planning efforts with other government agencies at the County, State, and Federal levels.

mission

The Mission of the Duluth Department of Community Development and Engineering is to develop and implement creative community-based strategies to enhance economic opportunity, build strong neighborhoods, and ensure a dynamic framework for quality growth and development.

Areas of responsibility

  • Building Inspection
  • Capital Improvement Project Administration
  • Code Compliance
  • License Compliance
  • Engineering
  • General Permitting Activities
  • Planning
  • Redevelopment Administration
  • Site Development Inspections
  • Stormwater Inspections and Maintenance
  • Transportation Planning
  • Zoning

personnel 
Division Name Profession Email
Department Administration Margie Shames Pozin, PE Community Development & Engineering Director mpozin@duluthga.net

Planning and Zoning Division
Vacant Planning Manager  
  Forrest Huffman Special Projects Manager  fjhuffman@duluthga.net
  Kelly Nguyen Planner knguyen@duluthga.net
  Wendy Bethancourt Planning Technician wbethancourt@duluthga.net
Code Compliance Division Marcus Head Code Compliance Manager mhead@duluthga.net
  Shelley Shepphard Code Compliance Officer sshepphard@duluthga.net
  Liz Bradshaw Code Compliance Officer lbradshaw@duluthga.net
  Kevin McIntire Code Compliance Officer kmcintire@duluthga.net
  Susan Zboray Compliance Officer szboray@duluthga.net
Engineering Division Margie Shames Pozin City Engineer mpozin@duluthga.net
Permitting and Inspections Division Donald Bowers Building Official dbowers@duluthga.net
  Layla Corley Permit Technician lcorley@duluthga.net
  Kevin McInturff Civil Engineer kmcinturff@duluthga.net

Stormwater Division
Joshua Arnold Stormwater Program Manager jarnold@duluthga.net
  Alyssa Gilhooly Stormwater Program Administrator agilhooly@duluthga.net
  Reagan  Belk GIS Specialist rbelk@duluthga.net

contact and hours of operations

Contact us by using the email list above or by telephone at 770.476.1790. Visit us in person during regular City Hall business hours, Monday – Friday from 8:00am - 4:30pm.

City of Duluth Code of Ethics