The City of Duluth functions under a Council-Manager form of government.

The Mayor and five Council members are elected by citywide vote (at-large) in non-partisan elections and serve four-year terms.  They serve as the legislative and policy-making body of the municipal government. Together they enact City ordinances, appropriate funds to conduct City business, provide vital services, and formulate policies and procedures to be carried out by the administrative staff.

The City Manager works closely with the Mayor and Council to assist them in formulating policies and programs. Overseeing all City employees, the City Manager is responsible for the efficient ongoing operation of all City services as set forth by the City Council.

The City of Duluth has seven other administrative departments, each one headed by a Director.

  • City Clerk
  • Municipal Court
  • Parks & Recreation
  • Planning & Development
  • Economic Development & Marketing
  • Public Works
  • Police

The City also has various Boards & Commissions who make recommendations to the City Council. Click on the link below to access the City of Duluth Mayor & Council.

City of Duluth Mayor & Council


Gwinnett County has a five-member Board of Commissioners, comprised of a full-time chairman elected countywide and four part-time, district commissioners. An appointed County Administrator oversees the day to day operations of 14 executive departments. In addition to the commissioners, other elected County officials include: Tax Commissioner, District Attorney, Sheriff, Solicitor, Clerk of Court  and various judges, and the five members of the Board of Education.

Nicole Love Hendrickson - Chairwoman, Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners

Kirland Carden - District 1 Commissioner

Ben Ku - District 2 Commissioner

Jasper Watkins III - District 3 Commissioner

Mathew Holtkamp - District 4 Commissioner

State Officials

The City of Duluth is represented by Georgia State Senate and Georgia State House officials. 

State Senate

Nabilah Islam - 7th District

State House

Pedro (Pete) Marin - 96th District

Ruwa Romman - 97th District

Matt Reeves - 99th District



Senator John Ossoff - U.S. Senator for Georgia

Senator Raphael Warnock - U.S. Senator for Georgia

House of Representatives

Lucy McBath - Georgia's 7th Congressional District

If you are interested in learning more about your elected officials follow the link below.

State of Georgia Elected Officials

Thank you for visiting the City of Duluth website.

City Facilities

CityHall Parks

untitled2 PublicWorks
City Hall
3167 Main Street
Duluth, Georgia 30096

Parks & Recreation
3180 Bunten Road
Duluth, Georgia 30096

Public Safety & Municipal Court
3276 Buford Highway
Duluth, Georgia 30096
770.476.4151 - Police
770.623.2771 - Courts

Public Works
2450 Main Street
Duluth, Georgia 30096


Attractive Destination
A uniquely creative, fun and inviting destination for residents, visitors, and businesses.

Quality Community
Embrace our diversity to enhance and create a welcoming, safe, healthy, and sustainable community.

World Class Government
To provide exceptional service through innovative thinking, balanced growth, and ethical effective processes.

Sustainable Economic Environment
To create a vibrant, inviting and regionally recognized community with policies and procedures that foster economic growth and investment.